Tiruvallur District

Tiruvallur District

The City of Fast Developing

Tiruvallur History
In 7th century, Tiruvallur district was ruled by Pallavas. After that Nawab of Arcot, Mughals, French, Dutch and finally British captured this place on 19th century like other districts in Tamilnadu. This district was first called as Chengal pattu District. Later it was changed as Chengai M.G.R District. After that this district was separated as Tiruvallur M.G.R District. In 1997, this district was finally decided and named as Tiruvallur District (District Headquarters Name).
Sholavaram Lake, Puzhal Lake, Poondi Water Reservoir have been providing water to Chennai City. Famous Lord Shiva Temple located in Surutapalli, here main god is known as Bhoga Sayana Siva. In retail spending, this district stands third after Noida and Delhi.

Tiruvallur district is surrounded by Chennai district and Bay of Bengal in North, Vellore District in West, Kanchipuram District in South and Andhra State in North.

Tiruvallur District Details

  • Total Area :  3,552 sq. kms
  • Total Population :  37, 25,697 (male: 18, 78, 697 and female: 18, 47, 138)
  • Literacy : 83.82% (Male – 89.18%; Female – 78.39%)
  • Rainfall    :     1104 mm
  • STD Code    :   0411*
  • Pin Code    :    602 ***
  • People Density : 1,049 (per sq.km.) (3rd place in Tamilnadu)

Places of Interest
Famous Tourist and Important Places, you can find around Tiruvallur are

  • Tiruvallur  Veeraraghava Temple
  • Thiruthani Murugan Temple
  • Thiruverkadu Karumariamman Temple
  • Periyapalayam Bhavani Amman temple
  • Thiruvalangadu Shiva Temple
  • Uthukottai Sivan Temple
  • Palaverkadu
  • Poondi
  • Water Storages
  • Puzhal Water Treatment Plant
  • Ennore Port
  • Nemam – Oneness Temple
  • Gudiyam Caves
  • Kunrathur Temple
  • Mapped Singeeswarar
  • Pazhayanur
  • Pulicat Temple
  • Surutapalli
  • Thirupasur
  • Siruvapuri Murugan Temple
  • The Wild Tribe Ranch
  • Vadivudaiamman – Sri Thiagarajaswamy Temple
  • Thirumullaivoyal Temple
  • Thalankuppam

Tiruvallur Administration

Revenue Divisions - 3 (Tiruvallur, Thiruthani, Ponneri)

Taluks - 9 (Kummidipoondi, Ponneri, Uthu Kottai, Ambattur, Poonamallee, Tiruvallur, Thiruthani, Pallipattu, Madhavaram)

Municipalities - 12 (Tiruvallur, Avadi, Ambattur, Madhavaram, Thiruvottiyur, Kathivakkam, Maduravoyal, Poonamallee, Thiruthani, Thiruverkadu, Valasaravakkam, Manali)

Blocks - 14 (Villivakkam, Pulaleri, Sholavaram, Minjur, Gummidipoondi, Ellapuram, Poondi, Tiruvallur, Poonamallee, Kadambathur, Thiruvalangadu, Thiruthani, Pallipattu, R.K.Pettai)

Town Panchayats - 13 (Chinnasekkadu, Minjur, Naravarikuppam (red hills), Ponneri, Porur, Puzhal, Thiruninravur, Uthu Kottai, Aarani, Gummidipoondi, Pallipattu, Pothatturpettai, Thirumalisai)

Lok Sabha Parliamentary Constituency - 1 (Tiruvallur)

State Assembly Constituency - 10 (Gummidipoondi, Ponneri, Thiruvottiyur, Poonamallee, Tiruvallur, Thiruthani, Avadi, Madhavaram, Maduravoyal, Ambattur)

Tiruvallur Other Details

Business Development - Handmade Garments, Industrial Areas, Oil Refinery Industry, Fertilizer Industries, Avadi Tank Factory, Ambattur Tyre Industry, Cycle Industry, Thermal Power Station, Matchbox Industries, Pencil Factory, Madhavaram milk colony

Agricultural Crops - Paddy, Sugarcane, Chilly, Groundnut, Ellu

Rivers - Aarani River, Kooduthalai River, Koovam River